A holiday to Greece anyone?

The Greek government has formally invited Australians to travel to the Mediterranean nation as soon as possible.

The Greek government is seeking to connect Australians in a travel bubble, similar to that of New Zealand.

From June 15, Australians will be permitted to fly into Greece.

Australia is on a list of 29 countries released by Athens on Friday deemed to fit an “epidemiological profile” that makes travel from them relatively safe. 

The 29 nations on the approved visitor list:

Albania, Australia, Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Israel, Japan, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Norway, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Korea, Switzerland, and Finland.

The list of 29 countries was drawn up after a study of the epidemiological profile of the countries of origin of tourists and after taking into account Thursday’s announcements of the European Air Safety Agency (EASA), as well as the relevant proposal of the Infectious Disease Committee.

The centre-right government there, desperate to restart tourism, said people from all 29 countries could fly into either Athens or Thessaloniki, in the north of the country, from mid-June. 

The country has recorded just 3,000 covid cases and has effectively flattened their curve.

“Sample tests will be conducted on visitors from the [listed] countries,” it said. “For all other countries, the current regulations continue to exist.” 

Unfortunately right now Australians can’t leave the country. Only under special conditions deemed by border force, can anyone come into or leave Australia.

Australia and New Zealand are working on a travel bubble but with many Australian states locking down their borders, a travel bubble to Europe may be some time away.


Ryan is Contributing Editor